Fun88 > Cricket > IPL 2021 > IPL 2021 FAQs About Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 Answered!

IPL 2021 FAQs About Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 Answered!

IPL 2021 FAQs

Now that the remaining matches of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 are set to start from September 19, everyone’s excited.

When VIVO IPL 2021 was brought to a halt earlier this year due to the COVID-19 related concerns, cricket fans were a bit sad, although they understood that it was best for IPL to not continue at that time.

Later, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to move the remaining matches of IPL 2021 to the UAE. Obviously, the fans are happy, as they are looking forward to the resumption of their favourite league.

In this blog, Fun88 brings for you the most frequently asked IPL 2021 questions.

Q1: Which teams will be contesting for the IPL 2021 Cup?

Eight franchisee-owned teams will be playing in the IPL 2021. These include Delhi Capitals (DC), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), and Rajasthan Royals (RR).

IPL 2021 Teams

Q2: What is the meaning of IPL 2021’s format – double round-robin and playoffs?

‘Double round-robin’ means that each IPL team will play two matches with all other teams. This is called the league stage, at the end of which the top four teams will advance to the playoffs stage. The top two teams on the points table will play in the first qualifier match in the playoff stage. This match’s winner will reach the final, while the losing team will have to wait for the result of the second qualifier match.

Before that, an eliminator match will happen between the third and fourth positioned team on the points table. While the winner of this match will move to the second qualifier match, the losing team will exit the tournament at this stage.

In the second qualifier match, the eliminator match’s winning team will play against the losing team of the first qualifier match. This match’s winning team will advance to the final match, while the losing team will exit the tournament.

The winners of the first and the second qualifier matches will play in the final to decide the winner of the IPL 2021.

Q3: Have the remaining IPL 2021 matches been moved out of India?

Yes, the BCCI has decided to move the remaining IPL 2021 matches to the UAE. Earlier in the year, 25 IPL matches were played in India, but the tournament was brought to a halt due to the increasing number of COVID-19 cases.

To ensure the safety of players and spectators, the BCCI has moved the remaining 31 matches out of India to the UAE. Of these, 13 matches will happen in Dubai, 10 matches will happen in Sharjah, and 8 matches will happen in Abu Dhabi.

Q4: When are the remaining IPL 2021 matches starting?

The remaining IPL 2021 matches will begin on September 19. The first match will be played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) on September 19. The final match of the IPL 2021 will be played on October 15.


Q5: Who are the captains of the eight participating teams of the IPL 2021?

The captains of the IPL 2021 teams are as follows:

Chennai Super King: MS Dhoni

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli

Punjab Kings: K.L. Rahul

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson

Q6: How do I watch IPL 2021 matches from home?

Disney+ Hotstar has the rights to stream IPL matches in India. You can take a subscription of Disney+ Hotstar and watch IPL 2021 matches either on your mobile phone or your LED while sitting at home. Moreover, Indian telecom operators offer complimentary subscriptions of Disney + Hotstar with their plans. As these plans are subject to change, it’s a good idea to check with your telecom service provider.

But, there’s an easier way to watch IPL 2021 matches. You can watch all the IPL 2021 matches by logging on Fun88.

Q7: Which are some of the most successful teams of the IPL?

Mumbai Indians (MI) is the most successful team of IPL, having won the tournament five times, in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. MI tends to have the most talented and balanced side of the tournament, which helps them win regularly. Their dominance is evident in recent years, as they won IPL back-to-back in 2019 and 2020.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is the second most successful team of the IPL, as they have won the tournament thrice in 2010, 2011, and 2018. Plus, they finished runners-up on five occasions in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019.

Q8: Who are the most expensive players of the IPL 2021?

The most expensive player of the IPL 2021 is Chris Morris. Morris was bought by Rajasthan Royals for Rs 16.25 crore during the auctions. Given that he’s a bowling all-rounder, RR will expect him to do well with both bat and ball.

Kyle Jamieson was bought by RCB for a massive Rs 15 crore. Jamieson is fast becoming one of the best bowlers in the world. In the World Test Championships (WTC) final, he took the wicket of Virat Kohli, who incidentally is also his captain in RCB.

Glenn Maxwell is another expensive player who was bought by RCB for Rs 14.25 crore. Maxwell is expected to add to RCB’s batting depth.

Q9: Which players have pulled out of the IPL 2021?

English superstar, Ben Stokes, has taken a break from all forms of cricket to focus on his mental health. He will be unavailable to play for Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2021. Another star player of RR, Jofra Archer, has been ruled out of IPL due to an injury. Clearly, RR is having a tough time. But that’s not it because Joss Buttler, who also plays for RR, has said that he’s not sure if he will play in the remaining IPL matches due to family reasons.

Visit Fun88 to get the best betting odds for IPL 2021 matches, tons of IPL betting tips, exciting prizes, and a lot more. Register at Fun88 and start betting today!

Related Read: 10 reasons to visit FUN88 site for online IPL betting!